Performing a Normal (Soft) Reset on a Samsung Galaxy S

A normal reset is sometimes referred to as a soft reset. A normal reset stops all running applications but does not erase any programs or saved data.

Caution be sure to save any unsaved data before performing a normal reset since a normal reset erases all unsaved data.

To perform a soft reset:

  1. If your device is frozen and unresponsive, press and hold for 8-10 seconds. The device will reboot automatically.

Performing a Hard (Full) Reset on a Samsung Galaxy S

A full reset is sometimes referred to as a hard reset. Perform a full reset when you want to clear all settings, programs and data from RAM. A full reset deactivates the battery the power button does not function until the battery is reactivated.

Caution if you perform a full reset, your Samsung Galaxy S returns to its default settings and looses all information that is not recorded in ROM.

To perform a hard reset:

  1. In Idle mode, open the application list and select Settings -> Privacy -> Factory data reset -> Reset phone -> Erase everything.


Page last modified on January 25, 2011, at 09:50 PM