Performing a Normal (Soft) Reset on a Treo 90

A normal reset is sometimes referred to as a soft reset. A normal reset stops all running applications but does not erase any programs or saved data.

Caution be sure to save any unsaved data before performing a normal reset since a normal reset erases all unsaved data.

To perform a soft reset:

  1. Unscrew the tip of the stylus to access the reset tool.
Palm Treo 180g Stylus
  1. Use the reset tool to gently press the reset button inside the hole on the back panel of your phone.
Palm Treo 90 Reset Button Location

Performing a Hard Reset on a Treo 90

A full reset is sometimes referred to as a hard reset. Perform a full reset when you want to clear all settings, programs and data from RAM.

Caution if you perform a full reset, your Palm Treo 180 returns to its default settings and looses all information that is not recorded in ROM.

To perform a warm (or safe) reset:

  1. Press and hold the top scroll button on the front panel of your phone.
  2. While holding down the top scroll button, use the reset tool (or similar object without a sharp tip) to gently press the reset button).
  3. When the system screen appears, release the top scroll button.

To perform a hard reset:

  1. Press and hold the power button on the top of the phone.
  2. While holding down the power button, use the reset tool (or similar object without a sharp tip) to gently press and release the reset button.
  3. When the system screen appears, release the power button.
  4. When a message appears on the phone screen warning that you are about to erase all the data stored on your phone, do one of the following:
  • Press the top scroll button on the front panel of your phone to complete the hard reset and display the Digitizer screen.
  • Press any other button to perform a soft reset.

Note: With a hard reset, the current date and time are retained. Formats Preferences and other settings are restored to their factory default settings.

  1. If the language selection screen appears, select the same language you selected for your desktop software. Choosing a different language may result in loss of data.


Page last modified on November 17, 2010, at 10:47 AM