(:title Palm Treo 500 Hard Reset:) !! Performing a Normal (Soft) Reset on a Treo 500 A normal reset is sometimes referred to as a soft reset. A normal reset stops all running applications but does not erase any programs or saved data. '''Caution be sure to save any unsaved data before performing a normal reset since a normal reset erases all unsaved data.''' '''To perform a soft reset:''' # Holding your smartphone screen side down, use two or more fingers to press against the battery door to release it, and then slide the door off the back of your smartphone. %center%http://www.howtoreset.com/uploads/Palm_Units/palm_treo500_soft_reset.jpg"Palm Treo 500 Battery Illustration" # Remove and reinsert the battery, and then replace the battery cover. # Press and hold Power http://www.howtoreset.com/uploads/Palm_Units/palm_treo500_soft_reset2.jpg until the PalmŪ logo appears. ---- !! Performing a Hard Reset on a Treo 500 A full reset is sometimes referred to as a hard reset. Perform a full reset when you want to clear all settings, programs and data from RAM. '''Caution if you perform a full reset, your Palm Treo 500 returns to its default settings and looses all information that is not recorded in ROM.''' '''To perform a hard reset:''' # Synchronise your smartphone with your computer so that your smartphone applications and info can be restored by synchronising again after you perform the hard rest. # Holding your smartphone screen side down, use two or more fingers to press against the battery door to release it, and then slide the door off the back of your smartphone. # Remove and reinsert the battery, and then replace the battery cover. # While pressing and holding End http://www.howtoreset.com/uploads/Palm_Units/palm_treo500_hard_reset1.jpg, press and hold Power http://www.howtoreset.com/uploads/Palm_Units/palm_treo500_soft_reset2.jpg until the screen wakes up. # When prompted, press Up http://www.howtoreset.com/uploads/Palm_Units/palm_centro_sys_reset.jpg. to erase all data. # (Optional) Synchronise to restore your previously synchronised info. If you use a backup utility, you may also need to restore a backup to recover additional info and settings.