Performing a Normal (Soft) Reset on an Apple iPhone

A normal reset is sometimes referred to as a soft reset. A normal reset stops all running applications but does not erase any programs or saved data.

Caution be sure to save any unsaved data before performing a normal reset since a normal reset erases all unsaved data.

  1. Hold down the home and lock buttons on the iPhone.
  2. Continue holding these buttons until the screen displays the Apple logo. The iPhone is now restarting and will soon show the slide to unlock screen.


Page last modified on September 09, 2010, at 08:16 AM