BlackBerry_Units.Pearl_8200_Hard_Reset_Soft_Reset History

Hide minor edits - Show changes to output - Cancel

Deleted lines 25-29:

Before you delete your device data, consider backing up the data so that you have a copy on your computer before you delete it
from your device.
CAUTION: If you have turned on content protection, the process for deleting all device data can take up to an hour to complete. You cannot
stop the process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process continues after the device restarts.
Added lines 1-46:
(:title BlackBerry Pearl 8220/8230 Hard Reset:)

!! Performing a Normal (Soft) Reset on a BlackBerry Pearl 8200 (8220/8230) Series

A normal reset is sometimes referred to as a soft reset. A normal reset stops all running applications but does not erase any programs or saved data.

'''Caution be sure to save any unsaved data before performing a normal reset since a normal reset erases all unsaved data.'''

To perform a soft reset:

# Remove and reinsert the battery.

----

!! Performing a Hard Reset on a BlackBerry Pearl 8200 (8220/8230) Series

A full reset is sometimes referred to as a hard reset. Perform a full reset when you want to clear all settings, programs and data from RAM.

'''Caution if you perform a full reset, your BlackBerry Pearl 8220 or 8230 returns to its default settings and looses all information that is not recorded in ROM.'''

Before you delete your device data or media card files, consider backing up these items so that you have a copy on your computer.
CAUTION: If you have turned on encryption, the process for deleting all device data can take up to an hour to complete. You cannot stop the
process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process restarts after the device restarts.

To perform a hard reset:

Before you delete your device data, consider backing up the data so that you have a copy on your computer before you delete it
from your device.
CAUTION: If you have turned on content protection, the process for deleting all device data can take up to an hour to complete. You cannot
stop the process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process continues after the device restarts.

# On the Home screen, click the Options icon.

# Click Security Options.

# Click General Settings.

# Press the Menu key.

# Click Wipe Handheld.

# To delete all third-party applications from your device, select the Include third-party applications check box.

# Click Continue.

# Type blackberry.


Page last modified on November 22, 2010, at 12:03 PM